My Vujicic Experience

Manipulative, deceitful, exploitative… the event organisers who had capitalized on the image of it’s key note speaker, were pushing me to the brink of patience. They denied us an itinerary and refused to reveal when he would appear. The conference itself was a sham; conmen blatantly hawked their own business interests to attendees who had paid good money to absorb some of their business savvy and “wisdom”. The number of I’s and me’s flying from their lips did not seem to embarrass them; they seemed shameless of their self promotion and get rich schemes.

The person I had signed on to see was Nick Vujicic. As the days slipped out of my hands because if their lack of integrity and openness, I grew frustrated. I was forced to sit through speakers in fancy suits who said so little and yet expected such loud applause. “Do you want to get rich? Brand yourself! Write a book! Start a Webinar! You don’t have to know anything to teach people something! Sign up for my programme and I will show you how! Sign now! Those sitting, why aren’t you signing up? You don’t know what you’re missing!”

My soul writhed in this temple of mammon. I looked around. For three days, 4 thousand people were opening their hearts and souls to this – and they loved it.

Then, finally, it was time. Someone carried a small man and placed him onto a table. People came to take pictures and got so excited that they had to be repeatedly told to take their seats. They knew there was something special about this man. He had no limbs, but he had more substance than any other person who had come onstage. Everything in me rejoiced when he began speaking. He spoke of hope, love, joy, purpose, valuing yourself – such nourishment after the vacuum I had been in. He declared his faith in Jesus, and his belief in eternity and heaven for all to hear. And I understood. Nothing can quench the power of God and his will. God uses the willing to carry a bulb into the world; then He turns it on. Nick may have no hands, but he carries a chandelier of floodlights.

Thankful I got to hear from this inspiring man of God. Thankful for the new perspective on my petty self-esteem issues. Thankful to have witnessed Jesus shared so simply, boldly, yet so full of love and gentleness. Thankful to have witnessed the grace and love of God for the multitude.

My takeaway: I am beautiful, I have a bulb in my hand and I’m hooked up to an everlasting power source.

Leave a Reply

